top of page
Search
  • Rich Araujo

Farewell to 2016


Another year is being peeled off the calendar, and for most of the population, it means a fresh start. It means that anything that's been going on in life, good or bad, is going to suddenly change and will suddenly get better. It means that when the clock strikes midnight, a deep breath can be taken, and everything will be so much better.

In saying farewell to 2016, let me first acknowledge some of the celebrities that left us.

Nancy Reagan John Glenn Fidel Castro Alan Thicke

Florence Henderson George Kennedy Patty Duke Abe Vigoda

Arnold Palmer Craig Sager Prince Garry Shandling

Gary Marshall Gene Wilder Doris Roberts Pat Harrington

David Bowie Prince Vanity Leonard Cohen

George Martin Glenn Fry Keith Emerson Greg Lake

Merle Haggard Alan Rickman Anton Yelchin Robert Vaughan

Van Williams Ken Howard Gordie Howe Kenny Baker

Joe Garrigiola Carrie Fisher Debbie Reynolds Ali

I know, I'm sure I'm missing a few. And it's certainly sad for the loved ones and families of these people to lose them, but there's something I'd like to say. And I say this with no disrespect at all to the loved ones, family and friends of these people, but it seems to me that a lot of people have illogically had their 2016 ruined or marred by the passing of these people.

Yes, it's sad they're gone and yes, some of these people have had some kind of impact in your lives, whether it's entertainment or inspiration, but, really. Besides their passing, when's the last time you thought of these people? Maybe you hear their songs or see them on the screen, but even when you do that, do you ever really think about them personally? When's the last time you wondered how they were doing? Honestly, every name on this list, besides hearing of their passing, when was the last time you thought of any of what their lives have been like? And yet, it seems all I've heard is "2016 sucks" when one of them passed.

Again, it's sucks for their families, and it's sad to see them go, but my 2016 is not going to suck just because these people left us. And it shouldn't for you, and here's a quick way to prove it. Name 3 celebrities, musicians or sports stars who passed away in 2013? I'm guessing you can't do it, and I'm guessing that, in regards to any of those celebrities who passed away 3 years ago, you haven't thought anything of them, unless you see them in a movie or hear one of their songs. And then you think, "Oh yeah, they passed away, how sad." And then you go about your day.

I guess what I'm saying is that there are many people in this world who have suffered the loss of a loved one, or lost a relationship, or got into serious financial difficulties or suffered health problems. For those people, I can certainly understand why they will consider 2016 to be a terrible year. And for those people, I will definitely keep them in prayer, because I know the turning of the calendar page won't magically dissolve their problems.

And if you haven't experienced any of that, then thank God. Maybe the year didn't go as you hoped, maybe you didn't hit that goal you were aiming for or see that dream fulfilled this year. Maybe the year was more mundane where nothing too exciting happened for you.

But please, if you're saying 2016 sucked because some of our favorite celebrities passed or your candidate didn't win, please stop. (I'm happy the way the election turned out. Both were terrible candidates, but there's one major positive that came out of this and you can see my reasoning here),

For me, 2016 was a year wherein I saw the seeds that I've been planting begin to show some life, and I can see the vision I've had begin to come to fruition. There were some hits, some soft and some hard ones, but that's life. Overall, I'll look back at 2016 as a year wherein motion began going forward and began to pick up steam.

I see 2017 as a year where I'm going to see amazing things. Not because it's a new year, but because I've been spending the past years laying the tracks and now the train is beginning to move.

My prayer for you, as the page of the calendar turns, that no matter what your 2016 was like, that your 2017 be an incredible year of amazing success in everything you touch, and that you're free from tragedy, loss and hurt. I know that may be idealistic, but that will be my prayer for you all the same.


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page