top of page
Search
  • Rich Araujo

Sitting at the piano


It's rare these days when I get to sit at a piano (or keyboard). I played for many years, although not consistent enough to play anything that would be described as far beyond decent.

The other day I had a chance to sit down at a grand piano, and yes it was old and quite out of tune, it was still nice to shake off a bit of rust and play for a while.

While I was sitting there playing, a memory came to mind of something I did for a friend many years ago. He had always enjoyed my playing and was going away for a while (college or something) and he asked if I would record some songs of me playing. (This was before internet and YouTube, and before recording studios were available at everybody's fingertips.)

So, I obliged and did a homemade recording at the church I was playing at, and gave it to him. It's possible it might have been on cassette. It may have been CD, but it was certainly a while ago.

With the memory in my head, I remember how much he appreciated it and listened to it often. Sitting at a piano now, many years later, I was thinking somebody else might enjoy it as well. Though my rust is quite severe and the piano is in desperate need of a tuning, I decided to play one of the few church songs I actually remember how to play.

My voice is a bit shot, so I just sang the verse and chorus once and then let the piano do the rest. So here it is, mistakes and all. I just hit record and played as I felt led.


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page